The Concrete Poet

The Brazilian king of curves, Oscar Niemeyer passed away on the 5th December, aged 104. The award winning architect was famous for his spaceship-like buildings and use of curves, and his memoirs The Curves of Time:

“I am not attracted to straight angles or to the straight line, hard and inflexible, created by man. I am attracted to free-flowing, sensual curves. The curves that I find in the mountains of my country, in the sinuousness of its rivers, in the waves of the ocean, and on the body of the beloved woman. Curves make up the entire Universe, the curved Universe of Einstein.”

 

The world lost one of it’s all-time greatest architects. Rest in peace.

Niterói Contemporary Art Museum, Rio De Janero (1996)

Museo Oscar Niemeyer, Parana, Brazil (2002)

Palacio da Alvorada, Brasilia, Brazil (1958)

Ibirapuera Auditorium, Sau Paulo (2005)

Read more at:http://indiatoday.intoday.in/story/legendary-architect-oscar-niemeyer-dies-at-104/1/236274.html

I am far away from everything,
from everything I love,
from the beautiful country
where I was born.
One day I’ll get burnt,
and I’ll hop on the road,
it’s there in Brazil
that I want to live;
everyone in their corner,
each one under their roof
playing with friends,
watching time go by.
I want to look at the stars,
I want to feel life,
it’s there in Brazil
that I want to live.
I’m sick of life
(this flu won’t heal!)
of hearing so much silliness,
I can’t help myself.
One day I’ll get burnt
and let go of everything,
this doesn’t suit me,
it doesn’t suit me at all,
my decision is final,
no one can stop me.
To hell with work
and this shitty world,
it’s in Brazil
I want to live
!

Leave a Reply

